DEVELOPMENT PROJECTS

HORROR

SUPERNATURAL

Haunted Horror

SYNOPSIS

Edited by Craig Yoe, Clizia Gyssoni, and Steve Banes.

Haunted Horror, edited by the renowned comics historian Craig Yoe and the company at Yoe Books, is an anthology of classic EC-style horror masterpieces in the style of Tales From the Crypt.

Each issue features self-contained horror stories, mostly from the 1950s, known for being freaky, grotesque, gruesome, and completely wild! These are the comics that lead to Dr. Fredric Wertham’s infamous book, Seduction of the Innocent and testifying before Congress on juvenile delinquency, which lead to widespread destruction, burning and banning of those terrifying tales.

Though many of the stories of the 1940s and ‘50s went unsigned, particularly after Wertham’s testimony led to fear of persecution by the writers and artists, some recognizable names and styles can be found in the pages. These include Jack “The King” Kirby (co-creator of The Avengers, Uncanny X-Men, Fantastic Four and creator of countless other characters), Joe Simon (co-creator of Captain America), Jack Cole (creator of Plastic Man, Playboy cartoonist), Steve Ditko (co-creator of The Amazing Spider-Man and Dr. Strange), Sheldon Moldoff (co-creator of Batman villains Poison Ivy and Mr. Freeze) and more.

Each artist brings their own unique vision to their tale, creating out-of-this-world monsters the likes of which remain unexplored anywhere else but these tales, or bring true fright and trauma to the almost always unsuspecting leads who find themselves at the mercy of monsters.

Naturally, the variety of styles and original publishers create a vast library of stories. Though no two are the same, there are sometimes similarities. Many feature the likes of voluptuous vixens, spooky old graveyards and swamps, mad scientists, decapitation, giant spiders, undead maniacs, blood, murder and mayhem!

Of course, like any good horror, it isn’t purely spooky. There’s also romance (or, at least, lust), mystery, tension, psychological horror, a few laughs, and twists and turns aplenty to keep you guessing and keep the next scare scary.

For fans of Tales From the Crypt, The Twilight Zone, Tales From the Darkside, or even more modern horror anthologies like American Horror Story and Black Mirror, Haunted Horror is sure to titillate and delight as you scream at what goes bump in the night!